3.6.1.3 Roles
This section describes the following items.
Select “Role” under “User Management” in the navigation area to manage roles.
Clicking on a role displayed in the configuration area will take you to the “Role details” window. Roles added by users are added as the Custom type, and standard roles are registered as Pre-Installed or Primitive types.
(Table) Types of operation buttons in the “Role” window
| Item | Description |
|---|---|
| Add | Adds a role. Becomes inactive when the checkbox is checked. |
| Delete | Deletes a role. If a checkbox is not checked, or if Primitive or Pre-Installed is the selected type, it will be inactive. |
(1) Adding roles
Click the [Add] button to add new roles. Clicking the [Add] button will open the “Add role” window. Click the [Save] button after entering the role information to add a role. For information on the characters allowed for each item, see “Notes on characters that can be entered”.
A description of the contents displayed in the “Add role” window is shown below.
(Table) Types of content displayed in the “Add role” window
| Item | Required | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Name | Yes | Role name |
| Description | No | Detailed description |
Assigning of roles is performed in the related resources area.
Use the tabs to switch between views, and click the edit button to display the corresponding assignment dialog box. For details about the assignment procedure, see “Assigning users, groups, and roles”.
The tab types are as follows.
(Table) Related resources area tabs
| Item | Description |
|---|---|
| Users | Displays a list of users to whom roles are directly assigned. The displayed columns are as follows.
|
| Groups | Displays a list of groups to which roles are directly assigned. The displayed columns are as follows.
|
| Associated Roles | Displays a list of roles assigned to this role.
|
[Assigning users, groups, and roles]
You can assign users and groups to a role and configure related roles as follows:
- In the related resources area, select the [Users], [Groups], or [Associated Roles] tab.
- Depending on the selected tab, click the [Edit Users], [Edit Groups], or [Edit Roles] button to open the assignment or configuration dialog box.
- From the list, select the checkboxes for the users, groups, or roles to be assigned.
Tips
- You can narrow down the information in the list by specifying conditions using the filter
. - In "Rows per page", you can change the number of users, groups, or roles displayed per page. If the number of users, groups, or roles exceeds the display limit, you can navigate between pages by clicking "< " or ">".
- You can narrow down the information in the list by specifying conditions using the filter
- Assigned users, groups, or roles are displayed as green chips, as shown below.
Example:

To remove assigned users, groups, or roles, click the "×" on the right side of the chip, or clear the checkbox.
Tips
If the content displayed spans multiple lines, click the
icon to view additional assignment results. - Click the [OK] button to close the dialog box.
(2) Viewing role details
The “Role details” window is used to confirm and edit the role detailed information.
Clicking on a role name displayed from the “Role” window will take you to the “Role details” window. Clicking a role name displayed in the “Role” window allows you to navigate to the “Role details” window. In the “Role details” window, the role information area and the related resources area are displayed separately, one above the other. Edit buttons are also provided in each area.
The types of operation buttons available in the role information area are as follows.
(Table) Types of operation buttons in the role information area
| Item | Description |
|---|---|
| Edit | Edits role information. After modifying the role information, click the [Save] button to apply the changes to the registered role information. |
| Delete | Deletes the role. |
For details about the related resources area tabs, see "(Table) Related resources area tabs".
(3) Deleting roles
Clicking the [Delete] button on the “Role” window while a role is selected, or on the “Role details” window, will display a confirmation dialog box. Click “OK” to delete the role. However, only custom roles can be deleted.
(4) Editing roles
In the “Role details” window, the role information area and the related resources area are displayed separately, one above the other. Edit buttons are also provided in each area.
[Editing the role information area]
Clicking the [Edit] button in the “Role details” window allows you to edit the role information area. After making changes, click the [Save] button to apply the changes. For details of the displayed items and the content that can be entered, see “Adding roles”. Please note that the name of the role cannot be changed.
[Editing the related resources area]
You can edit the related resources area in the “Role details” window as follows:
- In the related resources area, select the [Users], [Groups], or [Associated Roles] tab.
- Depending on the selected tab, click the [Edit Users], [Edit Groups], or [Edit Roles] button to open the assignment or configuration dialog box.
- From the list, select the checkboxes for the users, groups, or roles to be newly assigned. To remove assigned users, groups, or roles, clear the corresponding checkboxes or click the "×" on the right side of the chip.
Tips
- You can narrow down the information in the list by specifying conditions using the filter
. - In "Rows per page", you can change the number of users, groups, or roles displayed per page. If the number of users, groups, or roles exceeds the display limit, you can navigate between pages by clicking "<" or ">".
- You can narrow down the information in the list by specifying conditions using the filter
- Check the chips displayed at the top of the dialog box to confirm the assignment results. The meanings of the chip colors are as follows:
- Green: Newly added assignment
- Gray: Existing assignment
- Red: Removed existing assignment (to cancel the removal, click the "+" on the right side.)

Tips
If the content displayed spans multiple lines, click the
icon to view additional assignment results. - Clicking the [Save] button closes the dialog box and saves and applies the changes.