3.6.2.1 Common settings

This section explains the settings for [User Data Reuse Policy] and [Default Identity Provider]. These settings are executed from [Identity Providers] - [Common Settings]. For details on [Identity Providers], see “Identity provider”.

(1) User data reuse policy

Even if a customer user or a user who has accessed OTOBO is deleted from Ops I, the relationship between that user and the resources created by that user will not be deleted and will remain on OTOBO as a user who existed in the past. Therefore, before a user links to an IdP, it is necessary to decide whether or not the information of the deleted user should be inherited when a user logs in to Ops I using an IdP with the same user name or e-mail address as a deleted user on Ops I.
Set whether to inherit user information in [User Data Reuse Policy]. The [User Data Reuse Policy] is a common setting for Ops I, targeting users who are linked to IdPs.

A description of the [User Data Reuse Policy] window items is shown below.

(Table) User data reuse policy window items

Item Description
Operation button Save the user data reuse policy settings. The button will be activated when the setting content is changed.
  • [Save] button: Saves the user data inheritance settings.
  • [Revert] button: Cancels the changes to the settings and returns them to the previous setting.
User Data Inheritance Select the user data reuse policy.
  • Not inherit data as another user:
    The information of the deleted user that is considered to be the same is not inherited, and a different user is created in Ops I and linked to the IdP user. The user name and e-mail address of the user who was not inherited is automatically converted and the user information is retained in OTOBO.
  • Inherit data as the same user:
    The information of the deleted user that is considered to be the same is inherited, and is linked to the IdP user as the same user.

If any of the following cases apply, the system will automatically determine whether or not to inherit the user information according to the [User Data Reuse Policy] settings.

(Table) Cases in which the user data reuse policy setting is applied

Case* Criteria Duplicate of deleted user When information is inherited When information is not inherited
User name E-mail
  • When a new user is created by logging in from an IdP (other than a customer user)
  • When a user's "Customer" setting is deleted due to logging in from an IdP
The deleted user is not a customer user Yes Ignored The information of the deleted user is inherited The user name of the deleted user is changed
  • When a new user is created by logging in from an IdP (customer user)
  • When a user's "Customer" is set due to logging in from an IdP
The deleted user is a customer user of an arbitrary customer Yes No The information of the deleted user is inherited The user name of the deleted user is changed
No Yes The information of the deleted user is inherited The e-mail of the deleted user is converted
Yes
When both the user name and e-mail address are the same as those of the same deleted user
The information of the deleted user is inherited The user name and e-mail address of the deleted user are converted
Yes
When the user name and e-mail address are the same as those of different deleted users
The information of deleted users with duplicate e-mails is taken over, and the usernames of deleted users with duplicate e-mails are converted The e-mails of deleted users with duplicate e-mails will be converted, and the user names of deleted users with duplicate user names will be converted
*Customers are added or deleted according to the mapping settings. For details about mapping, see "Mapping tab".

The inheritance of deleted user information may also occur when users are added or edited in Ops I. For details, see “Inheriting the OTOBO information of deleted users”.


(2) Default identity provider

When there is only one IdP used for linking with IdPs, that IdP can be set as the [Default Identity Provider]. This allows you to go directly to the login window of any IdP without selecting it on the Ops I login window when logging in. If you are already logged in to the IdP at this time, you will be logged in to Ops I without the IdP login window being displayed.

Ensure that the users assigned the Pre-Installed roles “System Administrator” and “System Security Administrator” are linked before setting the [Default Identity Provider].
This user performs operations that require high privileges, such as Ops I settings.

[Default Identity Provider] window items are as follows.

(Table) Default identity provider window items

Item Description
Operation button Saves the default identity provider settings. The button will be activated when the setting content is changed.
  • [Save] button: Saves the default identity provider settings.
  • [Revert] button: Cancels the changes to the settings and returns them to the previous setting.
IdP Select the IdP used as default. The pull-down menu displays [None] and all connection settings added, regardless of whether they are enabled or disabled.
If [None] or a disabled connection setting is specified, the [Default Identity Provider] setting will not be applied and the Ops I login window will be displayed.

NotesNotes

The [Default Identity Provider] setting is not user-specific but applies globally to Ops I. If different users use different IdPs, or if the same user logs in directly to Ops I and via an IdP, do not configure this setting.