3.11.1 Configuring permissions
This section describes how to configure operation permissions in Grafana.
To operate dashboards in the dashboard application and dashboards embedded in custom applications, you must be assigned the Primitive role “dash_viewer” or “dash_editor”.
- dash_viewer:
Allows viewing of dashboards.
The Grafana role "Viewer" is assigned. - dash_editor:
Allows creating, editing, viewing, and deleting of dashboards.
The Grafana role "Editor" is assigned.
Assign either a Grafana role or Admin, Edit, or View permissions to the user. The operations that can be performed in Grafana are determined by the assigned permissions.
Different permissions can be assigned to each dashboard and folder.
(Table) Operations available in Grafana by permission
| Operations available in Grafana | Permission | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Admin | Edit | View | |
| View dashboards and folders | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Create, edit, and delete dashboards | Yes | Yes | No |
| Create, edit, and delete folders | Yes | Yes | No |
| Create subfolders and dashboards within a folder | Yes | Yes | No |
| Overwrite dashboards by import using [Import (Overwrite)] | Yes | Yes | No |
| Change permissions for dashboards and folders | Yes | No | No |
Default permissions for folders and dashboards at creation are as follows:
- Grafana role “Viewer”: Permission “View”
- Grafana role “Editor”: Permission “Edit”
- User who created the folder and dashboard: Permission “Admin”
However, if there is a parent folder, the same permissions as the parent folder are applied.
Notes
- If you place subfolders or dashboards within a folder, they inherit the permissions of the parent folder by default. If permissions are configured at a lower level, those permissions take precedence.
- Only assignment of permissions to Role (settings for Grafana roles) and User (settings for users) is supported.
- If different permissions are assigned using different assignment methods (User assignment and Role assignment), the higher permission takes precedence.
- Changes to permissions are applied immediately upon add, change, or delete operations, as there is no confirmation or OK button.
- The user performing the operation can also revoke their own "Admin" permission. As a result, the user is no longer able to configure permissions. Ensure that at least one user has the "Admin" permission.
Configure permissions as follows:
- Open the main menu on the left side and click [Dashboards] to open the [Dashboards] screen.
- Open the screen for configuring permissions.
- For folders: Open the folder and select [Folder actions]-[Manage permissions] in the upper right.
- For dashboards: Open a saved dashboard, select [Edit] in the upper right, click the displayed [Settings], and then select the [Permissions] tab.
- Configure permissions for a Grafana role or a user.
- To add a new setting target, click the [Add a permission] button, select the target, and configure permissions. Only "User" and "Role" are supported as targets.
- To edit an existing setting target, change the permission in the "Permission" column.
For details about Grafana permissions, see the following:
https://grafana.com/docs/grafana/v12.3/administration/roles-and-permissions/#dashboard-permissions
https://grafana.com/docs/grafana/v12.3/administration/user-management/manage-dashboard-permissions/